Town of Lowell School Committee

The Town of Lowell is an administrative unit within the Maine Department of Education (MDOE) but does not operate any schools. A 3-member School Committee along with a Superintendent is the governing body.

Lowell K-12 students have the opportunity to attend any public or private MDOE approved school with the Town paying the tuition consistent to policy. Superintendent Gwen Smith can provide additional information.

Most Lowell students attend either MSAD 31 or RSU 67 and transportation is provided to these school districts.  Transportation to any other school district is the responsibility of the student/guardian.

If you are a new resident of Lowell or have a child entering school for the first time, please stop by the Lowell Town Office and complete a proof of residency form.

Or download using the button below

Please view the Town of Lowell Calendar for upcoming School Committee meeting schedules


Maine School Administrative District 31
Serving the communities of Enfield, Howland, Passadumkeag, Maxfield and Edinburg. MSAD 31 has three schools in the district: Enfield Station, Hichborn Middle School, and Penobscot County High School.

For more information, you can view the MSAD 31 website.

RSU 67

Regional School Unit #67
Serving Lincoln, Maine and surrounding communities. There are three schools in the district: Ella P. Burr Elementary, Mattanawcook Junior High, and Mattanawcook Academy.

For more information, you can view the RSU 67 website.

School Committee Documents

Meeting Minutes, Budget Information, Residency and other forms